Writer Blog

It Was Only a Job

“Full Body suit. No one would know.”

What was I getting myself into? I was just starting out and desperate for any kind of gig. Times were rough and I couldn’t have felt more like a failure than I already did. I hadn’t slept in weeks and the electric company was threatening to shut my power off.

Money’s money. “I’ll do it.”

I sat for five hours in make-up so they could apply and paint the fish-face just so I could stroll across the set running into the same actor for 10 takes. I had never even heard of the show before. Some sci-fi spacey thing with terrible effects and aliens. Little did I know I would be signed on as the fish-face for 5 more years and develop a cult-following. Next stop, spin-off!

(Flash Fiction challenged to me by my best friend, Kristen! I kept it under 150 words because it’s late and I have a lot of work to do in the next couple of days. But, it’s been too long since I posted on here. I’ve neglected you, writey-world! Been busy with work and Scribe job. More to come hopefully sooner rather than later!)

Leave a Reply

